Vang Vieng Adventure #2

The only other thing to do in Vang Vieng other than tubing is to enjoy nature. I found out that there are some caves to go around the area. The most popular one is Tham Phu Kham cave and the blue lagoon. The blue lagoon is really famous for its opaque turquoise colour that is amazinginly beautiful. I was just hoping it wasn’t brown and muddy as some bloggers had mentioned. During off season the rain usually fills up the lagoon so I had my fingers crossed for a clear blue lagoon.

I wanted to take the Tuk-tuk because that’s the easiest way but when I asked the boy at the reception, he was like if I go alone it would be around 10 dollars.

Noooooooooooooooo I should have brought ten friends with me.

So I decided to take a nice slow walk around the area trying to find alternatives. I had already gotten into an motorcycle accident in Thailand so I had motorcycle phobia…Motophobia? Is that even a word?

I looked up the walking option but that took 2 hours or more…hmmmm. I was walking around town and then I spotted a bicycle rent shop. Voila!! What is that you say? 4USD for the whole day? Woohoo! The lady was so nice, she gave me a chain, lock, and a map. She also explained to me how to get to Tham Phu Kham cave.

On my way I saw a random shop selling snacks. It was hand made ones. It’s made out of fried rice with caramel syrup on top. Mmmm. It tasted like sweet rice crackers. I bought two for $2 and went on my way.

There’s a bridge you have to cross where you have to pay for a round trip ticket lol I think it was around $2.

This is the bridge.

DSCN0709DSCN0711

Once I crossed the bridge, I saw a little shop selling water. There was an old couple and the old man was really nice. He warned me about frauds who will try to take me to a different cave, ask me to buy tickets and so forth. He told me to keep going straight and swerve to the right once I hit a forked road. Now that I think about it I have no idea how I understood him. I dont know Laotian..maybe a little Thai that I picked up from Thailand?Did we speak english? Body language? Its so funny how we communicated so well.

Mind you the roads are not packaged so its really bumpy and stony. I thought I’ll get arthritis in my pelvis but it was still pretty fun like mountain biking. With the distance I don’t think I could have made it if I walked.

Look at all the cow friends I made on the way.

DSCN0717 DSCN0716 DSCN0718 DSCN0721

You can see the road is all muddy from the rain.  Free mud pack for my feet…natural pedicure right?

DSCN0728 DSCN0727

Beautiful turquoise river I saw on the way. The scenery was so beautiful. It was breathtaking.

DSCN0713 DSCN0712

To be continued…

PS. Thank you so much for all your likes!

Leave a Reply

