Vang Vieng Adventure #3

DSCN0761

When I arrived at the Blue Lagoon/Tham Phu Kham Cave, I paid for my entrance ticket which was 25000 kip around $3. They didn’t have change for my 50,000 kip so they told me to come back after 2 hours. Bahhh

I told them to remember my face because I will be back. Astalavista baby lol

It was around 11am and there were some local people playing around the blue lagoon. It was very nice and turquoise.

DSCN0760

I parked my bicycle and looked around to see which way the cave was. I saw a young woman and a man behind a small desk at the foot of the staircase leading up into the mountains renting out headlamps. I decided to ignore it and just start climbing.

The lady called me back. She told me I needed a headlamp. I told her I wasn’t thinking of renting it. She said it’s a must. I found out later on that this cave was purely in its natural state. There were no lights, or any infrastructure of any kind. I rented the head lamp for 2000o kip ($2). The lady kept on saying something and it took me a while to realize what she was saying. “Tour guide? Do you need a tour guide? ” Ahhh…for that split second I thought of all the yummy snacks I can buy with that money and hey! I was feeling adventurous anyway so I smiled and said no. I don’t need a tour guide. I can take care of myself.

Nooooo!!! Why did I do that! My guardian angel should have been there to tell me YES YES YES I need a tour guide.

I made my way up to the cave. The climb was steep but wow the landscape was beautiful.

DSCN0729

DSCN0753

The cave was pitch dark inside with some light coming from the hole above. There was the reclining Buddha in the middle. There were rocks and endless routes spiraling downwards.

All I had to do was follow the red arrows. This is the first red arrow right at the entrance.

DSCN0755

I felt like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. Follow the yellow brick road, follow the yellow brick road. At least Dorothy had a clear yellow brick road in front of her to follow. The red arrows were spread out so far from each other, I would get lost, go back, try to follow the red arrows again. And then this is when it happened.

I kept moving forward. There was nobody in the cave. It was just me and the head lamp. I couldn’t find my red arrow. I looked back. Everything looked the same. I had climbed over some rocks and stones, jumped over some cliffs and crawled under rock bridges. There I was trying to go back to follow my red arrow. Uh-oh. No luck.

Okay keep calm, let’s be calm. Which way did I come from? I tried to follow my way back. I was back in the same spot.

I had no idea where the hell I was. Have you watched the movie The Descent?

MV5BMjA5NzQ1NTgwNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjUxMzUzMw@@._V1_SX214_

I hate horror movies and I have no idea why I had watched that movie with my friends. It’s a movie about a group of friends who go on an adventure in a cave , and meet Gollum looking like creatures. Spoiler alert! The creatures end up ripping apart everyone. Great ending right? They also scream weird cries…Damn it for watching that movie! Damn my brain for recalling that!

All I could think about were those creatures and I swear I could hear something. Everywhere my head lamp shone, spider were jumping around, no kidding, 1 meter heights. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HELLLPPPP

I frantically scuttled around, trying to find the red arrow. Trying to find a way out. Should I keep climbing up? Should I go left? right? Should I go under that rocky bridge? I was back in the same spot again.

I started calling out”Is anybody there? Anybody? Can anyone hear me?” Silence…

These were some photos I took while I was still sane haha

DSCN0744 DSCN0745 DSCN0743 DSCN0733

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

